General Information

Cuba is an insular country lying in the Caribbean Sea in the archipelago of the Greater Antilles. The biggest and most attractive tourist islands are Cuba and Juventud, but besides them there are also about 1,600 smaller islands. The main island consists mostly of lowlands. In the northwestern part of the country, west of the capital city Havana, there are calcareous mountains Sierra de lod Organos. Along the northeastern coast there is a mountain range Sierra Maestra with the highest point Turquino ( at 2,005 meters above the sea level). A low mountain range Sierra de San Juan runs through the middle part of the country. The shoreline of the country is well-developed and the coastal lowlands, which are mostly marshy, turned into beaches at some places. Along the coast there are archipelagos of small islands, rocks and coral reefs. Despite the intensive deforestation, various forms like equatorial jungle or mountain pine forests managed to be preserved. The environment of the island is favorable for many species of small animals. The Columbus Island was discovered by Christopher Columbus during his first expedition. On 28 November 1492, Columbus found the island which he later named Juana. In 1521, Cuba was annexed to the Vice Kingdom of New Spain, which resulted in the rapid and total extermination of the indigenous inhabitants of the island. The eventful history, insurrections and rebellions, resulted in the US intervention which forced Spain to relinquish its right to Cuba. The country gained its independence in 1902. Cuba, which was ruled by dictators during last decades, didn’t have any chance to become an economic power, which can be unfortunately seen in those regions of the country rarely visited by tourists. Nowadays, there are more than 11 million inhabitants in Cuba and the official language is Spanish. The majority of Cuban people is atheist. Catholics are the second social group.